The Australian Terrier Club of America logo

The Australian Terrier Club of America, Inc.

Dedicated to the Advancement of Quality, Purebred Australian Terriers

AKC Parent Club Member 1977
Founded 1958



In the American Kennel Club’s ongoing efforts to recognize and celebrate its volunteer club members, The AKC Outstanding Sportsmanship Award program was established in 2006 to provide each member club with an AKC Medallion to award to one of its own on a yearly basis. This award honors those individuals who deserve special recognition that have made a difference in the sport of purebred dogs, embodied the AKC Code of Sportsmanship, and have been an active and valued member of an AKC member club. Medallions are awarded solely at the club’s discretion.

Guidelines for the nomination of ATCA members for this award can be below.

Board Approval 1-14-2022 (effective 6-1-2022)

Do you have a nominee who meets these criteria?

  • • Sportsmen respect the history, traditions, and integrity of the sport of purebred dogs.
  • • Sportsmen commit themselves to values of fair play, honesty, courtesy, and vigorous competition, as well as winning and losing with grace.
  • • Sportsmen refuse to compromise their commitment and obligation to the sport of purebred dogs by injecting personal advantage or consideration into their decisions or behavior.
  • • The Sportsman Judge judges only on the merits of the dogs and considers no other factors.
  • • The Sportsman Judge or exhibitor accepts constructive criticism.
  • • The Sportsman exhibitor declines to enter or exhibit under a judge where it might reasonably appear that the judge’s placements could be based on something other than the merits of the dogs.
  • • The Sportsman exhibitor refuses to compromise the impartiality of a judge.
  • • The Sportsman respects the AKC bylaws, rules, regulations, and policies governing the sport of purebred dogs.
  • • Sportsmen find that vigorous competition and civility are not inconsistent and are able to appreciate the merit of their competition and the effort of competitors.
  • • Sportsmen welcome, encourage, and support newcomers to the sport.
  • • Sportsmen will deal fairly with all those who trade with them.
    • Sportsmen are willing to share honest and open appraisals of both the strengths and weaknesses of their breeding stock.
  • • Sportsmen spurn any opportunity to take personal advantage of positions offered or bestowed upon them.
  • • Sportsmen always consider as paramount the welfare of their dog.
  • • Sportsmen refuse to embarrass the sport, the American Kennel Club, or themselves while taking part in the sport.

Download AKC Sportsman Award Committee Guidelines and Job Description

Standing Rules In Effect

Outstanding Sportsmanship Award
Any member can nominate any member in good standing by sending the name along with a short testimonial to the ATCA Awards Committee Chair. Nominations will open four months prior to the annual meeting. Nominations, in writing, will be received no later than one month prior to the annual meeting. The nominees will be voted on by those members in good standing in attendance either in person or via electronic media at the Annual Membership Meeting.

Outstanding Sportsmanship Award
No nominations will be entertained for members who have previously received the award within the past three (3) years

Nominations for the award should be forwarded to the current Chair of the ATCA Sportsman Award Committee.

The 2022 Chair is Dana Dean at:

Past AKC Outstanding Sportsmanship Award Winners

2010 – Teresa Schreeder

2011 – Ida Ellen Weinstock

2012 – Marilyn Harban

2013 – Sue Bachman

2014 – Darlene Evans

2015 – Jane Tenor

2016 – Barbera Curtis

2017 – Kerrie Bryan

​2018 – Alexa Samarotto

​2019 – Kreg Hill

2020 – Teresa Schreeder

​2021 – Thalia Rott

2022 – Caren Holtby

2023 — Heather Rife

2024 — William Christensen

Verified by MonsterInsights